Biden signs disaster declaration for Nebraska following December tornadoes

Photo: WOWT 6 News

(Washington D.C.) -- Dozens of Nebraska counties will get federal funding for damage sustained during December storms.

On Wednesday, President Biden declared a major disaster for the state of Nebraska following December 15th storms that produced dozens of tornadoes across the Midwest. Nebraska Lt. Governor Mike Foley signed a disaster proclamation on December 29th. On Friday, Nebraska’s senators and representatives submitted their request to the president.

The president’s declaration includes an order for federal aid for emergency repair work done in 25 Nebraska counties: Adams, Buffalo, Burt, Cass, Cuming, Fillmore, Gage, Hamilton, Harlan, Jefferson, Johnson, Kearney, Nemaha, Nuckolls, Otoe, Pawnee, Platte, Polk, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Thayer, Washington and Webster.

A line of severe thunderstorms and tornadoes swept across the Midwest December 15th and classified by the National Weather Service as a serial derecho.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content