Nebraska joins third lawsuit against federal COVID vaccine mandate

(Lincoln, NE) -- Nebraska's attorney general joins a third lawsuit against the federal COVID-19 vaccine mandate.

Attorney General Doug Peterson's office says on Wednesday, the Nebraska Department of Justice filed its third lawsuit challenging the mandate. The suit was filed in Missouri, like the two similar lawsuits filed in recent days, and argues that the Biden administration’s rule “imposes an unprecedented federal vaccine mandate on nearly every full-time employee, part-time employee, volunteer, and contractor working at a wide range of healthcare facilities receiving Medicaid or Medicaid funding.”

"Today’s filing seeks to stop the mandate that the Biden Administration’s Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) seeks to impose on healthcare workers throughout Nebraska—and the rest of the nation. As with the other two challenges, we argue that this healthcare worker mandate exceeds the Biden Administration’s powers and violates both the U.S. Constitution and other federal laws. In preparing this lawsuit, we have talked to many healthcare facilities throughout Nebraska, especially in rural communities, and we have heard the same message over and over again: this mandate will force healthcare providers to fire critical employees, including operations personnel who don’t provide patient care, and that will have a devastating impact on many healthcare facilities in greater Nebraska. That, in turn, jeopardizes the ability of Nebraska residents to access necessary healthcare services throughout the state. The lawsuit asserts that state health officials and local hospital administrators are in the best position to address appropriate COVID-19 issues in Nebraska health care facilities. We hope to avoid the detrimental impact that the mandate threatens to healthcare services in Nebraska." - Nebraska Attorney General Doug Peterson

Other states also included in the lawsuit are Missouri, Arkansas, Kansas, Iowa, Wyoming, Alaska, South Dakota, North Dakota and New Hampshire.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content