Unicameral passes final redistricting maps

Photo: WOWT 6 News

(Lincoln, NE) -- Nebraska state legislators come to an agreement on the state's new redistricting maps.

Thursday morning, the Unicameral approved the six new maps. The maps, which were redrawn based on 2020 U.S. Census data, then went to Governor Pete Ricketts for final approval, which he gave. Some of the biggest changes come to the state's largest metropolitan areas. In Lincoln, some of the surrounding rural districts will now stretch into the city. In the Omaha area, the new Congressional map keeps all of Douglas County in the 2nd District, along with western Sarpy County. The new map also adds Saunders County to District 2.

You can see the new Congressional district map here and the new State Legislature district map here.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content