Governor Announces New Health Directive As COVID-19 Cases Climb In Nebraska

Governor Pete Ricketts has ordered more counties in Nebraska to tighten up public activity to help stop the spread of the COVID-19 coronavirus.

In his daily press conference on Tuesday, Governor Ricketts announced that sixteen more counties will be under Directed Health Measures (DHM) until May 12th. The counties now under DHM include:

  • Adams
  • Banner
  • Box Butte
  • Cheyenne
  • Clay
  • Dawes
  • Deuel
  • Garden
  • Grant
  • Kimball
  • Morrill
  • Nuckolls
  • Scotts Bluff
  • Sheridan
  • Sioux
  • Webster

These health measures directly impact bars and restaurants, as they are ordered to close their dining rooms. Food and drinks can still be served but only through deliveries, takeout and to-go. The health measures also suspend any elective or non-emergency health procedures.

Ricketts also released the newest number of confirmed coronavirus cases in the state. As of Tuesday, 172 cases have been reported in Nebraska, with three deaths. The peak number of coronavirus cases is expect to come in mid to late April.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

NewsRadio 1110 KFAB · Omaha's News, Weather, and Traffic
Listen Now on iHeartRadio